Ballon d’Or 2019

Ballon d’Or 2019: Lionel Messi is the overwhelming favourite to win a sixth Ballon d’Or at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris tonight.

The Barcelona star leads a 30-man shortlist, with Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo expected to finish on the podium. There is no place for last year’s winner Luka Modric, though his Real Madrid team-mates Karim Benzema and Eden Hazard are in the running.

Van Dijk is one of seven names from Liverpool, while Manchester City have five nomineees, Tottenham two and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is the sole representative from Arsenal.

When is the Ballon d’Or?

The ceremony is set to take place on Monday, December 2 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. The red carpet will begin from 4pm UK time with the ceremony set to start at 7.30pm.

You can follow tonight’s ceremony LIVE on Standard Sport.

When will it start?

The glitzy ceremony is set to start at 7.30pm (BST).

It will take place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.
How can I watch it?

The awards bash will not be available to watch on television in the United Kingdom.

But fear not, France Football will be live streaming the ceremony.

In the USA, it will be shown live on beIN Sports.
Which players have been nominated?

Men’s award

Sadio Mane (SEN/Liverpool)
Sergio Aguero (ARG/Manchester City)
Frenkie de Jong (NED/Barcelona)
Hugo Lloris (FRA/Tottenham)
Dusan Tadic (SER/Ajax)
Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (ENG/Liverpool)
Donny van de Beek (NED/Ajax)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB/Arsenal)
Marc-Andre ter Stegen (GER/Barcelona)
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus)
Alisson (BRA/Liverpool)
Matthijs de Ligt (NED/Juventus)
Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid)
Georginio Wijnaldum (NED/Liverpool)
Virgil van Dijk (NED/Liverpool)
Bernardo Silva (POR/Manchester City)
Son Heung-min (KOR/Tottenham)
Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich)
Roberto Firmino (BRA/Liverpool)
Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)
Riyad Mahrez (ALG/Manchester City)
Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City)
Kalidou Koulibaly (SEN/Napoli)
Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Barcelona)
Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)
Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid)
Marquinhos (BRA/Paris-SG)
Raheem Sterling (ENG/Manchester City)
Joao FĂ©lix(POR/Atletico Madrid)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *